Bridging the Crap

I originally created this blog to allow me to evaluate WordPress as an alternative website for my existing blog “The Simian Monologues” that currently resides on blogger. It is proving to be a less than fruitful exercise and, as is always the case, the fault appears to lie not with WordPress or Blogger but with the intangible world that exists between these two sites when you try to import Blogger posts into WordPress. The term “Chinese Whispers” come to mind as what is fed in from my Blogger posts is very different to what ends up in WordPress. Whilst it is possible for me to hand correct all of my previous blogs after import, I am hoping to avoid this large manual effort as I have more pressing issues to attend to such as writing blogs about avoiding large manual efforts and also proof reading blogs about writing blogs about avoiding large manual efforts. The list goes on and on.

unable-to-complete-format

It appears that a fly has entered my Blogger-to-WordPress teleportation device resulting in post formatting that comprises a human torso connected to a grotesquely large insect head that is pleading “Help Me! Please centre my images!” to any visitors who happen to come by.

My blog is not very popular or life-changing in any way, but it gives me an opportunity to open up my “act-like-a-bonehead” valve which allows me to function as a mature individual in normal society. Without this outlet I am prone to spout obscure 80s references and childish toilet humour in situations where these things are not only underappreciated but often lead to serious consequences such as smirking and occasionally mild loss of bodily function control.

2657434642_543c30685f

The mysterious backend systems that perform the Blogger-to-WordPress import functionality.

I will persist as I feel WordPress could be the better option as the blogs that I read in WordPress look and feel a lot more polished and slick than the blogs I read in Blogger. Perhaps I may, for the next little while at least, use this blog as a record of my ham fisted attempts at setting up a WordPress blog. Fingers crossed, or trotters crossed, I can resolve these issues and make an informed decision on the two.

About Ape No. 1

This famous lowland gorilla was born on July 4, 1971, in San Francisco. He was a gorilla who mastered over 2,000 words in American Blog Language, allowing him to communicate with humans in an astounding way. Some people felt that he was simply making blogs without understanding their real meanings, in order to receive treats and rewards from his readers.
This entry was posted in Status and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

