White On Black Has A Negative Effect

I have learnt my first lesson I think in the art of Blogét, pronounced (blō – zhā), relating to the ease of reading for blogs. I was reading various blogs discussing the topic of “White Text on Black Background” vs “Black Text on White Background” and whilst my initial informed opinion was “Yeah, whatever you OCD freaks!”, I slowly began to see some value in the discussions. I was unaware that not only do many people find white text on a black background difficult to read, it can be make a blog completely inaccessible for some readers.

TG*699711

Sites that have a small amount of white against a large black background are very unsettling on viewers eyes. I would have to agree.

When I was creating my Blogger blog I went for a dark background with light text thinking that it would produce a cool and slick look. I figured words against a black background would make the readers feel as if they were lounging in a cool jazz club with the words of my blog wafting through the cultured smoky atmosphere to be inhaled by the audience and absorbed into their very consciousness. Turns out most of them were probably just getting irritated eyes and having mild seizures.

knight-rider-02

I thought words being emitted from something dark and shiny would be awesome and badass. Turns out not so much.

I have updated my other blog to now have a white background with black text to see if I can make the stay for my virtual visitors more pleasant. I have undertaken a detailed usability study to confirm that these visual changes have made a positive impact and I can confidently conclude that my brother thinks “it looks OK”. Unfortunately the decor for the blog still comprises hints of tenuous link humour finished off with flourishes of daft image captioning. I am certainly no L. Ron Hubbard but I can dream.

About Ape No. 1

This famous lowland gorilla was born on July 4, 1971, in San Francisco. He was a gorilla who mastered over 2,000 words in American Blog Language, allowing him to communicate with humans in an astounding way. Some people felt that he was simply making blogs without understanding their real meanings, in order to receive treats and rewards from his readers.
This entry was posted in Status and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

