All Your Base Hits Are Belong To Greatsby Caption Comp

Ever have that kind of neighbor that would come around asking to borrow something like a mower and like a good citizen you would agree to the temporary loan only to then come home a few weeks later to the sight of an empty adjacent house with a For Sale sign out front and no obvious sign of your neighbor or mower. Well neither have I but that is kind of what happened to NASA with their free and easy approach to handing out lunar rocks over the past many years. They have lost track of a large number of them and now most of these rocks are probably just sitting abandoned in top drawers of university laboratories, on dusty shelves of private research centers, in close proximity to Fraggles or sitting atop a wizards staff as the main source of it’s mystical power.

Hey guys, check out what that nice NASA man next door let me borrow for our lawns. Apparently if the atmosphere outside became toxic you guys would die a slow and painful death and I would be just fine in here. Of course I didn’t ask him that specifically. That would be weird and creepy.

Anyway as usual this NASA thing was what my original post was going to be about but I have been distracted during the writing of this post by another topic so I shall put these space shenanigans to one side and follow my new lead instead. I was amused to notice that I have made it into the Good Greatsby’scaption contest’s finalists. I love a good captioning caper and most of all I love awards of no discernible value, so fingers crossed I can win bloggers hearts with my captioning and take home the intangible Christmas bounty on offer. I was curious as to why my site’s hits had gone up despite my recent lack of substantial posts but I then noticed that the Good Greatsby’s caption contest was listed as a referrer. I must admit that most of my posts comprise simply of a few random pictures with some absurd captioning but I really enjoy the challenge of taking a harmless looking image and finding the amusing and slightly disturbing themes concealed between the lines so to speak.

You know what Doris, I think your husband should cook without the burden of slacks more often. Don’t you agree?

I am going to enjoy the increased traffic curtesy of Mr Greatsby and his quintessential quip quest which hopefully means I can give a few more people than usual a small chuckle in the upcoming week. If you are a new visitor, welcome to my humble blog and make yourself comfortable. Preferrably not sans slacks but then again who am I to dictate your mode of comfort. For my regular readers, does anyone have a mower I can borrow for the weekend?

Vote for me or I let these astronauts get hit by that runaway shuttle behind them. Just kidding … kind of.

About Ape No. 1

This famous lowland gorilla was born on July 4, 1971, in San Francisco. He was a gorilla who mastered over 2,000 words in American Blog Language, allowing him to communicate with humans in an astounding way. Some people felt that he was simply making blogs without understanding their real meanings, in order to receive treats and rewards from his readers.
This entry was posted in Status and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to All Your Base Hits Are Belong To Greatsby Caption Comp

  1. Angie Z. says:

    Wow, the fate of those astronauts is in your readers’ hands! I hope they didn’t fail you, the caption contest and/or our universe.

  2. HoaiPhai says:

    Oh, Christ, I missed the whole thing caption contest thing again!

    True Story… When Mrs. HoaiPhai and I moved into our lovely shoe box on the escarpment, the neighbour to the rear asked if she could plug in a power tool into our outdoor electrical outlet. In a tizzy to get stuff off the do-it-yourself truck before my two brothers had to run off to work, I said “OK”. Several hours later, after all the stuff was off the truck and the basics for life (Bed, TV, couch, food in fridge, etc.) were set up, we sat down for a quick meal. The peace was being pierced by the sound of a major-sized circular saw that my neighbour was running on our electricity. She had run a long extension cord from our property to her backyard and had been running power tools all day. I unplugged the line and brought it over and pointed out that even though she didn’t have an outdoor outlet, she could have fed her extension cord out her window or door and and thanked her for running up our electrical bill as a welcome to the neighbourhood present.

  3. Ape No. 1 says:

    I like your assertive approach to dealing with your zap-sucking neighbours but if I was in your shoes I would have confirmed first what she was building. Perhaps the next time she knocks on your door it will be via a live bovine launched from a recently built wooden trebuchet. Of course she could have just been putting up shelves. But still…

  4. Thomas Wayne says:

    I really like the picture of the air-conditioned lawnmower. Hadn’t seen that one. I also enjoy how it’s so random, that it has nothing to do with the post. Randomness can be quite amusing. I’ve meant to start doing that on my posts, since images add visual excitement and stuff.

    I really enjoy caption contests, too — so much that I have one on my blog every Monday. There are also no awards of discernible value, which you claim to enjoy. 🙂 I see that you found one, which is how I found your blog. Just letting you know there are more, and you can write on any of them, no matter how old they are. I see all comments (and they’re listed in the sidebar so others will know about them).

Leave a Reply

