Keeping Your Head Above Water, Making A Blog When You Can

Ape is not really back yet but I thought I would explain to the small handful of followers where Ape has been. Much has happened since my last post. I succumbed to a stupid flu for a couple of weeks immediately after running a PB at the City2Surf, ran a half marathon in picturesque Sydney post City2Surf flu, climbed another rung in the corporate ladder, and celebrated my little man-ape's 10th birthday. Life has been a little hectic, sniffly, and sans humorous blogging but things are starting to settle down again.

“Shut up with the lame excuses and make with the funny simian boy!” Geez, give a guy a break imaginary irate blog follower.

I will forgo my usual approach of producing a faux news article and instead just draw your attention to an article that made me chuckle the other day. It is of course simian themed but with a dash of Lloyd Webber absurdity.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=8544241

It is essentially a musical of King Kong, finally most of you are saying to yourselves, but the creators comments make any attempt from Ape No. 1 to add any more humour redundant. The creator states.

“But I've always said to the producers that the show needs to able to be performed as if it was a high-school musical with no set, no special effects.”

Which of course explains why there will be a full size puppet King Kong in the production. I thoroughly recommend reading the full article as the article gets even more absurd after this.

I am sure it will be easy for people to ignore the massive gorilla and simply enjoy the experience that is a musical of a movie that has no right being a musical.

I know this should be start of a weekly blogger competition to see who can come up with the most inappropriate movie to turn into a musical but that is a level of work that Ape can not commit to. Anyway I will be posting again on the weekend and will also be trying to find moments in the next few days to catch up with the trillions of posts that I have missed reading from the blogs I follow.

Ape out…

About Ape No. 1

This famous lowland gorilla was born on July 4, 1971, in San Francisco. He was a gorilla who mastered over 2,000 words in American Blog Language, allowing him to communicate with humans in an astounding way. Some people felt that he was simply making blogs without understanding their real meanings, in order to receive treats and rewards from his readers.
This entry was posted in Status and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Keeping Your Head Above Water, Making A Blog When You Can

  1. Melbourne June 15th 2013 – A day of infamy awaits……..”Monkey Lovin’s Is Good Lovin'”

    • Ape No. 1 says:

      And then the 20 foot high mechanical Kong, who has now donned a hat and cane, breaks out into song …

      He said, “Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah,
      (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah)
      Yes, indeed, all you really need . . .
      (Is good lovin’)
      Gimme that good, good lovin . . .
      (Good lovin’)
      All I need is lovin’ . …

  2. joehoover says:

    Good grief, I await the news headline “Carnage at theatre as audience dessimated by giant swinging gorilla arm” They could have made it a tender piece as the original film actually was, a War Horse kinda vibe, but it sounds like the ape is gonna be doing the can-can at this rate.

  3. good to hear things are settling down for you again, Ape. Good for you on the marathon and job success. So your lil’ man had his 10th bday? So did mine. It was an exhausting day. I’m still recovering.

    • Ape No. 1 says:

      I know the feeling. I find kids parties more exhausting than running. Maybe I need to do more training in preparation for a kids party like I do for upcoming running events. Some interval training where I listen to kids shouting for 2 minutes and then the sound of the ocean for 10 minutes in repetition for about 2 hours. My kids shouting threshold is about 11 minutes at the moment but I am sure I could improve this to achieve a PB closer to 20 minutes.

  4. HoaiPhai says:

    See, if this really was done high school style, each student would provide a tiny personally-owned lemur that the Drama students would train to cluster together and act as a single giant Kong. Well, that’s the way it would have happened in any of the three high schools I attended.

    Also, you cannot imagine how envious I am of you working for a corporation that actually has a ladder.

    • Ape No. 1 says:

      You forget that for every ladder there are at least two snakes, though from experience this barter arrangement does not seem to apply when purchasing a ladder from a franchise Bunnings hardware store.

  5. HoaiPhai says:

    Where I work it’s all snakes. And thanks for the tip on where to get parts in case I want to repair my bunnings… it’s had a crack in it for as long as I can remember.

    • Ape No. 1 says:

      Haha. I have to admit the Canadian equivalent Home Hardware has a much more sensible name than Bunnings. I think we have the Brits to blame on that name.

      • HoaiPhai says:

        Home Hardware, founded in 1964, is the new kid on the block. Canadian Tire opened its first place in 1922 and has offered cash back coupons since 1958. These coupons, called Canadian Tire money (CT$), looks and feels like real banknotes, so much so that tourists would sometimes get scammed when people would unload their CT$ when giving tourists change! We’re in the process of converting from paper to plastic Auzziphilic notes and CT$ is just not keeping up with the anti counterfeiting measures so ripping off tourists is in danger of being lost from Canadian culture and tradition. Such is the price of progress, I guess.

Leave a Reply

