Friends, Romans, Countrymen … Bring Da’ Funk!

http://www.news.com.au/breaking-news/world/rhythm-link-to-language-ability

A study has been released linking linguistic capabilities with an individuals sense of rhythm. The experiments involved playing simple phonetic sounds at fixed and random frequencies to subjects and noting how the brain responded in the different scenarios. Well Ape calls bullshit. Seriously!? I don't know about you but if some clipboard sporting “researcher” played the syllable 'Da' continuously into my furry simian face for 30 minutes straight, my brain would also register a significant response. Most parents would have the all too familiar and painful memories involving the repetitive sounds of “Are we there yet? Are we there yet? …” Well fortunately Ape has managed to secure a couple of celebrities to comment on this so called study.

Brilliant writer, speaker, comedian, and all round awesome guy, Mr Stephen Fry, what are your thoughts on these conclusions?

“I am not one to frequent the dance floor but I guess if these scientists claim that improving one's sense of rhythm will lead to an improved level of eloquence then count me in. Get it. Count me in. No, I believe you are right, Ape. I too also call bullshit.”

Godfather of funk, Mr James Brown, would you like to share your thoughts on this study?

“Heeey!! Watch me now … (unintelligible) … gonna bring da funk … (unintelligible) … like a sex machine. Yoow!! Hell No! Dat Ape is right. Add me to the bullshit train baby … (unintelligible) … Yoowl! Stop watchin' me now you givin' me the creeps … (unintelligible)”

It is clearly unanimous. Ape, Fry, and Brown all agree and conclude that this study is …

Ape, when you see the moves that us Scientists will be busting out on the dance floor later you will surely change your mind. Actually, we too also call bullshit.

About Ape No. 1

This famous lowland gorilla was born on July 4, 1971, in San Francisco. He was a gorilla who mastered over 2,000 words in American Blog Language, allowing him to communicate with humans in an astounding way. Some people felt that he was simply making blogs without understanding their real meanings, in order to receive treats and rewards from his readers.
This entry was posted in Satire and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friends, Romans, Countrymen … Bring Da’ Funk!

  1. I’m on that bullshit train with you – Wow!

  2. That’s right…because when I think of linguistics, the first thing that comes to mind is James Brown. He was an occasional guest on the Howard Stern radio show and trying to figure out what he just said became a running bit. Hilarious.

    Hey! Speaking of unnecessary Shakespeare mentions…I’m seeing Stephen Fry in a couple of weeks in a Shakespeare play on Broadway. Twelfth Night. I’ll muscle my way backstage and tell him you’re flattering him all over the interweb.

  3. HoaiPhai says:

    Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha! Ha-ha!

    • Ape No. 1 says:

      Ha!

      This has generated a brain response in Ape. Test successful.

      • HoaiPhai says:

        Mission accomplished and welcome back (not to mention thanks for finally following)!

      • Ape No. 1 says:

        I have always been following but I have not been seeing your recent posts in my reader. I have tried un following and following again to see if it sorts it out. I have missed a handful of your recent posts.

      • HoaiPhai says:

        I know.. just playin’ around. There’s something strange with the new reader. Wouldn’t it be great if we could have the option of displaying missed posts as a list of those to whom we subscribe with a number beside indicating how many posts of theirs we have missed?

      • Ape No. 1 says:

        Good idea. Rather than a massive list you need to scroll through you can just be told Blog Whatever has some unread items. You know what. Just like podcasts on iTunes. A screen with simply a grid view of icons of your subscribed blogs and a little number or similar indication on the icon to tell you that some posts are unread. Click on the icon you get list of all posts for that blog in newest to older order with an indicator of the unread posts. This could be an interesting alternate view and would make it less overwhelming with a large number of subscriptions.

        Time to get pitching!!

      • HoaiPhai says:

        I have this other (what I think is a) great idea that is not limited to just WP. An IT friend of mine thinks it could generate a lot of interest (pronounced: cash) but I don’t have the foggiest clue who to approach or how to safeguard the idea. In spite of its almost universal potential market I’ve never seen anything even remotely like it. You wouldn’t happen to know Google’s R&D address and whether they’d steal the concept and my billion dollar cut, would you?

Leave a Reply

